Honestly, when I was college I was told that being a programmer is not a main goal of computer science. What they told were the main goal was being an analyze. Awal kuliah sih percaya” aja, tapi begitu sekarang terjun ke industri langsung, it’s not the truth. Actually the concept is an old concept. Nowadays, analyze and code are doing by a person and it’s called technical/programmer. What If I’d like to be a PM (Project Manager)? You shouldn’t join computer science if you’d like to be PM. If it’s possible, it needs time to be Project Manager since they need more experience as developer system.

So do you still believe that Programmer is a laborer?

Sebagai contoh, coba liat programmer” di Microsoft atau Oracle. Who invent the solution?The answer is the old one. Who invent the new technology? The answer is the old one. Who invent design pattern? The answer is the old one. All invention will be the same answer, the old one. Jadi, pemahaman kalo uda tua ga mau jadi programmer, it’s also the miss.

Sebenernya saya juga masih menganut “uda tua ga mau jadi programmer” :), but my boss told me that code is an art. You could build your own character by seeing your code. Then kepuasan menjadi programmer itu adalah saat mampu memecahkan solution on client site. You look wonderful in your client sight. Saya masih berpikir apakah pemahaman saya salah karena IT sendiri di Indonesia sungguh tidak dihargai 🙂 bukan hanya IT, pendidikan di Indonesia masih belum dihargai dengan baik. So, what I invent, what I explore and luckily it will become the great invention, the government just don’t care. Berbeda situasi dengan negara-negara di luar sana. Contoh kasus ya Nelson Tanu, dy menjadi rekor professor termuda di Amerika, darimana itu orang asalnya ? Indonesia. Pemerintah sama sekali don’t care. Padahal dy sudah ditawari untuk menjadi warga negara Jepang, Iran, dsb, karena apa? Jepang ingin mengakui bahwa dy mempunyai warga negara yang wonderful in education, Indonesia ? 🙂 you may burst of laught.

So, kesimpulannya, Programmer is not a laborer. Saat orang tahu bahwa kamu seorang programmer, you will be honored by that person. Saya mengalaminya waktu saya ditanya sama dokter waktu saya berobat, she told that wow, you’re the great one, you’re so young, you could develop more than what you expect. See ? 🙂 Cuma pas ditanya, kamu lulusan mana ? ITB ya? saya bilang IPB? dy teriak wow lebih keras lagi :)). dan seperti biasa, kalimat sakti itu keluar “SAYA BARU TAHU IPB ADA ILMU KOMPUTER”

